What should I do before deleting a metric?
Metrics are a core piece of Ambition, so what happens when they are deleted?
When a metric in Ambition is deleted, it's permanently deleted. Currently there is no way to mark a metric as "inactive" within Ambition, and when a metric is deleted it will be removed from across the platform.
The metric name will no longer be selectable in any metric selectors, so if there are any analytics reports containing that metric's data that you'd like to reference they should be exported before the metric is deleted.
Any competitions, goals, TV slides, or metric snapshot coaching agenda items that are currently using a metric when it's deleted will no longer update (since the metric is no longer active), so we would recommend verifying that there aren't any active competitions, goals, TV slides, or coaching agenda items using the metric before it's deleted. While historical competition, TV slide, goal, or metric snapshot data will be preserved, we recognize it would be a poor competition experience if the multi-day challenge you were in simply stopped updating.
If a metric that needs to be deleted is actively being used on a scorecard, the scorecards should be updated before the metric is deleted. An admin can reference the scorecard on the "Organization" dashboard to see if the metric is being used as a part of any role's Activity or Objective Score. If the scorecard is updated before the metric is deleted, historical scores won't be impacted although visually the metric, it's weighting, and targets will no longer appear if you are viewing a historical scorecard.
What happens if a metric is still being used on a scorecard when it's deleted?
Ambition recommends updating a scorecard to remove the metric that needs to be deleted before deleting the metric in order to preserve historical scores.
However, if a metric is a part of a scorecard when it's deleted, the scorecard's weighting will no longer add up to 100%. Due to the impact that can have on user's scores, it will be very difficult for a user to reach 100, it's important to promptly address this gap after deletion.
If a metric is deleted while actively on a scorecard, historical scores will also be impacted once the now deleted metric is replaced. Once a new metric is added to a scorecard to replace a now deleted metric, the new metric's weighting and data will be used to calculate historical scores for the entire time the deleted metric was a part of the role's scorecard.
Can any metric be deleted?
Yes, regardless which integration the metric is created within, all metrics can be deleted.
To delete a metric:
1. Locate the metric that needs to be deleted.
2. Click the ellipses icon, , and Delete.
3. Click Confirm when prompted.