Shared notes are visible to those with the "Coaching: All Access" permission, the note's creator, and the selected employee (the user who the note was created for).
Private notes are visible to those with "Coaching: All Access" permission and the note's creator. Private notes are not visible to the selected employee.
Any user with the "Coaching: All Access" permission will be able to see private notes unless the note is about themself.
Co-coaches are not able to view a private note that was created by the lead manager, but they can leave a private note that is visible to the lead manager.
A new manager will now supervise my previous direct reports. Can the new manager see the private notes I’ve created for each of my former direct reports?
No, private notes are only visible to those with the "Coaching: All Access" permission and the user who created the private note. A new manager would only be able to view your old, private notes if they were assigned the “Coaching: All Access” permission.