How Do I Deactivate a User?
Last updated: November 12, 2026
Deactivating a user removes their access and frees up their license, while keeping their historical data in your Group totals. Ambition emails the user to let them know their account was deactivated.
Required permissions:
The Users: Delete: Can Delete All Users permission is required to deactivate any user.
The Users: Delete: Can Delete Subordinate Users permission is required to deactivate the users you manage.
The Users: Delete: Can Delete Users Created By permission is required to deactivate users you created.
Manually Deactivate One User
Navigate to Admin --> People --> Users and search for the user.
Click on the ellipses icon on their row and select Deactivate.
Type I UNDERSTAND in the Deactivate User pop-up and click on Deactivate.
Manually Deactivate Several Users
Click on the checkbox next to each user's name. You also use filters to narrow down the list of employees, then click on the checkbox at the top o the header row.
Click on Actions and select Deactivate.
Type I UNDERSTAND and click on Deactivate.
Use a CSV to Deactivate Users
Export a user file from the User Management page or create a CSV file from scratch.
Enter False in the Is Active column for all users who should be deactivated. False should be written with only the first letter capitalized.
Upload the user file and map the column to the correct Ambition fields.
Note:
With the Salesforce integration, users deactivated in Salesforce are deactivated in Ambition automatically.