What Happens When a User Is Deactivated?

Last updated: November 13, 2026

The following is true whenever an employee's Ambition account is deactivated:

  • The deactivated user can no longer sign into their Ambition account.

  • They will receive an email saying their account was deactivated and who did it.

  • Their employee dashboard no longer is accessible via the global search bar.

  • Their Ambition license no longer counts against your organization's active licenses.

  • The employee's past metric contributions stay in your Group data. For example, an Account Executive Role dashboard will still include a deactivated user's numbers for the time they were in that Group.

If a user was deactivated by mistake, you can reactivate them with these steps. If your organization uses the Salesforce integration to automatically deactivate users, the user's profile will be deactivated once more until their Salesforce profile meets the activation criteria.


Related Articles