What Happens When a Cadence is Closed?
Last updated: August 18, 2026
Closing a Cadence retains historical Cadence Sessions and marks any open Sessions as Completed. This article will outline how closing a Cadence affects Sessions in different statuses.
Required permissions:
The Coaching Cadences: Create Cadence permission is required to close a Cadence where you are the designated Owner.
The Coaching: All Access permission is required to close any Cadence.
Cadence Visibility and Status
Whenever you mark a Cadence as closed, the following actions will happen:
The Cadence's status will move to Closed
The Cadence overview and employee roster will still be visibility
The Cadence can still be duplicated
Employee Status
The Cadence's Employee roster will be updated to the following statuses after the Cadence is closed:
Active employees will be marked as Incomplete
Paused employees will be marked as Incomplete
Completed employees will remain marked as Completed
Not Started employees will remain as Not Started
Removed employees will remain as Removed
Sessions Statuses
Closing a Cadence updates Session statues in the following ways:
Answers Due Sessions will change to Excused
Pending Approval Sessions will change to Excused
Completed Sessions will remain marked as Completed
Expired Sessions will remain marked as Expired
Excused Sessions will remain marked as Excused
Historical Sessions
Any Sessions generated while the Cadence was open will remain in Ambition. No historical Cadence data is deleted whenever a Cadence is closed.